Teacher Discussion Forum for Math 30-1

Project Based Learning in Math 30-1

Picture of Scott Seland
Project Based Learning in Math 30-1
by Scott Seland - Saturday, 1 March 2014, 4:57 PM

Has anyone developed or heard of good projects for Math 30-1?  I would really appreciate any ideas.  Thanks.

Picture of Cheryl VanDusen
Re: Project Based Learning in Math 30-1
by Cheryl VanDusen - Monday, 3 March 2014, 9:05 AM

Go to the Learn Alberta site and search for the Learn Everyware resources. I am an on line teacher for Rockyview and was part of the team hired by Alberta Ed to help write the Learn Everyware on line courses. I use the math 30-1 course as part of my moodle on line course and use several of the projects in my assessment. There is a project for every module so hopefully you can find something there.

Picture of Scott Seland
by Scott Seland - Monday, 3 March 2014, 10:39 PM

Cheryl, I just had a quick look through the projects.  They look really good and I'm going to try some of them out.  Thank you!

Picture of Alzona OwenBrown
by Alzona OwenBrown - Monday, 3 March 2014, 11:44 AM

Scott:  It is really difficult timewise for me to have the students work on project and still cover all of the course requirements.

Sometimes I will take the word or application questions and generate a math lab that should take about 40-50 minutes of class or homework time.  The students are required to set up the lab results in an orderly and neat format on a separate sheet of paper.  In this way they have to explain why they arrived at the answers etc... The trig section has some great problems with the ferris wheel and the rotating tires.  You can also set up a radian measure lab with cirlces and string, its pretty neat how it works out to the radian measure.  Perms and combs have some great group work and the functional transformations and stretches make great hands on labs for my students.  Let me know if you need anything.

Alzona

Picture of Cheryl VanDusen